Have you ever sent a photo or video to a WhatsApp contact and then wished you could delete it from their device? If you’ve sent a photo of your credit card or scanned in a receipt for an expense report, you’ll definitely want to delete it after viewing.
WhatsApp has a new feature for these very situations. The view once feature allows you to send photos and videos that can only be viewed once by the recipient.
Here’s the lowdown on this feature and how to use it.
Introducing WhatsApp’s New “View Once” Feature
WhatsApp recently announced the introduction of the new single view feature on its blog. This feature, which comes with the latest update, allows users to send photos and videos that each recipient can only view once.
Media sent in single view mode are automatically deleted once they have been viewed, giving users more control over what they share.
The feature works like a hybrid of Messenger Vanish Mode and disappearing DMs on Instagram.
How to Send “View Once” Photos and Videos
WhatsApp’s view once feature is only available on its latest version, so you’d need to update your app if you don’t have auto-update turned on.
Once you’re done updating the app, all you need to do is follow the steps listed below.
- Open a chat with the person you want to send the file to.
- Tap the camera icon and select the media you wish to send, just like you normally do when sending files.
- Tap on the circled 1 icon close to the send button.
- Tap the send button.
Using WhatsApp Web, the process is very simiar—just look out for the circled 1 icon.
What You Need to Know About WhatsApp’s “View Once” Feature
WhatsApp’s single view is literal; media sent in the single view mode can only be viewed once. They also cannot be forwarded, saved, starred, or shared.
You can use the single view feature in direct messages as well as in group chats. You’ll need to enable it separately for each piece of media.
You’ll only be able to tell whether the recipient has viewed your single view media if they have read receipts turned on. Finally, single view messages left unviewed are automatically deleted after 14 days.
Note: Recipients can still share files set for one-time viewing, as screenshots, screen captures, or by recording them with an external device before they disappear. You should still make sure you only send these messages to people you trust.
So, there you have it—now you know how to send single view media on WhatsApp. The feature is easy to use, and you can send photos and videos in DMs or group chats, and have them automatically deleted when they’re viewed.
Once your media are secure, you might want to ensure that the same is true for your other conversations. WhatsApp also has a feature to delete messages automatically seven days after you’ve sent them. Be sure to check out our guide on how to use that feature.
WhatsApp allows you to get rid of messages that you don’t want to stand the test of time. Here’s how to enable the feature.
About The Author